Four years later, in 1892, Elias was offered and accepted the living of Llanyblodwel, just over the border in Shropshire. It was and still is a beautiful and unspoiled area of rural England, having changed little in the intervening years. A recent description reflects its charm: "The village itself is not much more than a handful of houses, an inn and a church, and is probably the smallest settlement in the parish, but it is also by far the most picturesque, and the bridge with the Horseshoes Inn (left) is one of Shropshire's famous scenes. The inn is timber-framed and built in the 16th-century, as was the narrow, three-arched stone bridge which spans the River Tanat."
The splendid vicarage at Llanyblodwell (1853) was built, together with the Llanyblowel school, schoolhouse and the distinctive octagonal tower on St Michael the Archangel’s Church (1855) by a previous incumbent, Rev. John Parker (1799-1860) a distinguished amateur architect, artist and botanist. A bachelor, he paid for all this work out of his own pocket. No expense was spared in the construction of the vicarage; the chimney decorations are particularly striking. An archway in the castellated wall, above which is the inscription "Salvation belongeth to the Lord", leads into the extensive terraced garden where the land slopes steeply down to the river Tanet, In the foreground are some of the outbuildings, the largest being the stables, now converted into a beautiful house in which the original arch for carriages has been integrated. (See pictures)